2022 Pennsylvania Permit Test 18

The following questions are from real DMV written tests. These are some of the actual permit questions you will face in Pennsylvania. Each permit practice test question has three answer.. Read More

The following questions are from real DMV written tests. These are some of the actual permit questions you will face in Pennsylvania. Each permit practice test question has three answer choices. Select one answer for each question and select "grade this section." You can find this button at the bottom of the drivers license quiz. For a complete list of questions and answers for Pennsylvania please visit https://cheat-sheets.dmv-written-test.com/en/pennsylvania/car.

Number of Tests
Number of Question
Passing Score

1. This sign tells you that:

pennsylvania-winding road
Explanation
This sign warns of an upcoming winding road with three or more curves.

2. When passing on a multilane highway:

Explanation
Before passing, you must make sure the passing lane is clear and give the proper turn signal to show you are going to change lanes.

3. If you want to get off the freeway but you have missed your exit, you should:

Explanation
If you miss your exit, you should take the next exit. Do not stop or back up on the highway, swerve across multiple lanes to try to make the exit at the last second, or cross over the median to turn around. All of these maneuvers are illegal and extremely dangerous.

4. The “Four-second rule” refers to how one should:

Explanation
On dry pavement, you should generally allow a cushion of at least four seconds between you and the vehicle ahead.

5. A flashing red light at a railroad crossing means:

Explanation
You are required to stop at all railroad crossings when a signal warns of an approaching train. These signals may include flashing red lights, a lowered crossing gate, a flagger signaling, or a train’s audible signal of warning. Do not move forward or attempt to go around any gate or ignore any signal of an approaching train.

6. If you are under age 21 and are convicted of carrying a false ID card, you will be required to pay a $500 fine and your license will be suspended for 90 days:

Explanation
Even if you are not driving, your driving privilege will be suspended if you are under 21 years of age and are convicted of possessing alcohol, lying about your age to obtain alcohol, or carrying a false ID card. The minimum penalties include a fine of $500, plus court costs, and a 90-day license suspension for the first offense.
DMV Writen Test Logo