Click for the Exact questions on the TX DMV test. 99.2% pass rate

Click here for the full cheat sheet

Texas Drivers License Test Practice

(From the 2021 Texas driver handbook)
Number of tests: 24
Number of questions: 30
Passing score: 21
Directions: As part of the Less Tears More Years Act, all applicants who are under 25 years of age is required to take a driver education course to apply for a driver license. Upon successful completion of the course, the person is required to take the knowledge test, also known as the written test.

You need a grade of 70 percent or better to pass the knowledge test.
You have made error so far
Passing grade —
9 or fewer errors
advertising
1.

When involved in an accident, you should provide:

Your insurance and registration information.
Your full name and address.
Reasonable assistance to anyone who has been injured.
All of the above.
2.

A stop sign is shaped like a(n):

Rectangle.
Square.
Circle.
Octagon.
3.

This sign means:

indiana slippery when wet(2) road sign
Slippery when wet.
Tow-away zone.
Steep downgrade.
Roadwork ahead.
4.

If your wheels drop off the pavement and onto the shoulder of the road, you should:

Brake hard and turn sharply back onto the pavement.
Stop your car on the edge of the road.
Slow down and very carefully turn back onto the pavement.
Maintain your speed and turn sharply back onto the pavement.
5.

This sign means:

hawaii right lane ends road sign
Narrow bridge ahead.
Lane ends or roadway narrows ahead.
Industrial area.
Freeway on-ramp ahead.
6.

When driving at speeds under 30 mph, keep a minimum following distance of:

One second.
Two seconds.
Three seconds.
Four seconds.
Rate this test
4.6 out of 5
based on 2176 votes
Ace Your DMV Written Test
Get your Cheat Sheet Now!
Wait, before you go

Ace your DMV Written Test with our Guaranteed Cheat Sheet.

  • Cheat Sheets Save Time
  • Cheat Sheets pass on your first try

Texas Driving Test Practice

It’s always important to make sure that you’re prepared for the big tests you’ll encounter in life. Getting your Texas Learner's Permit via the written test is one of those huge examinations that happen over the course of one's lifetime. The good news is that when it comes to Texas driving test practice, you're in the right place. We're #1 when it comes to practice DMV permit tests online. The Texas Learners permit test isn’t the hardest, but it is one of the larger exams one will ever take when it comes to gaining rights as a Texan and as a U.S. citizen. Failing the Texas DMV written exam can be a costly process. You can find yourself losing both time and money. Preparing diligently with our free written test before you take your Texas permit exam is the only way to go.

The best way to get ready for your Texas written permit test at the DPS is by taking as many practice tests as you can. A practice test, also referred to as a Texas DPS cheat sheet, utilizes questions from the actual written exam you would take at the DPS. These questions are crowdsourced from peers who have previously passed the DPS written exam. Our Texas permit practice tests are formatted to be just like the permit test you would take at the Department of Public Safety. By finding us and using us, you can access as many permit test questions and answers, as you can handle before you take your learners, permit examination.

For learners who prefer learning from one sheet of paper, a Texas DMV cheat sheet is available for a nominal fee. This puts all of the information you need in one place. It couldn’t get any easier to prepare for your learner’s permit test in Texas.

Texas Learners Permit Requirements

We know that you’re ready to hit the road, but the state of Texas has a number of requirements you will need to meet before you can get your learners permit and legally hit the road. You must be of a certain age and also have completed an approved Texas Drivers Education course.

Texas Learners Permit Age

There is an age requirement for obtaining a Texas Learners Permit, also commonly referred to as a Texas Learner License. You must be 15 years of age. If you are under 18 years of age, you must complete and pass a classroom or online Drivers Education course that is approved by the State of Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).

Adult Drivers Education in Texas

If you are over the age of 18 and younger than 24, you will need to take an abbreviated Adult Drivers Education course. This course is similar to the Teen Drivers Education course but is much shorter in length. We highly recommend taking a course like this with a company like Aceable or DriversEd.com for ease and comfort.

Online Drivers Education in Texas

Online schools like Aceable and DriversEd.com are approved by the state of Texas, but make sure that you take time to read and select your course. There are two different types of online Drivers Education in Texas. One type of online drivers ed course is called “Parent Taught.” In this setting your parent acts as a curriculum advisor and behind the wheel coach in conjunction with online course instruction. An “instructor taught” course includes a local and affiliate driving school that will act in conjunction to the online course instruction. While both of these methods are approved, you’re going to want to research and find the solution that is right for you.

Getting Your Texas Learner Licence

Once you’ve completed your Drivers Education course, it’s time to take the written portion of your permit test. The written exam may not be necessary if it was completed during the course of your approved Drivers Education. This very much varies by who you took your course with.

Applying for your Texas learners license is something that can only be done by yourself and in person. Save yourself some time by booking your appointment with the DPS online before you head in. This trick has personally saved me hours of time in the past and it really does work (when their systems are functioning properly). If you are under the 18 years of age mark, you must bring along your parent(s) or legal guardian(s). They’ll be the ones to sign off on any of the paperwork.

What Paperwork do I Need to Get My Texas Learners Permit

To get your Texas Learners Permit you will need the following.

Provide proof of your:

  1. Identity and lawful U.S. presence.
  2. Texas residency—2 documents (banking, commodity bills, and government correspondence is the safest bet. If they’re unopened, even better)
  3. Social Security number.
Here is a list of acceptable items from the DPS to prove both your identity and residency. Some paperwork will also need to be submitted. Make sure you bring the following documents with you.
  1. Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE). This can also be a high school diploma/GED.
  2. Application for Driver License or Identification Card (Form DL-14A)
  3. Application for Driver License or Identification Card Minor (Form DL-14B)
  4. Provide the correct driver’s education completion form based on the course type you completed.
  5. A Texas Driver Education Certificate (Form DE-964) for Driver's Ed through a driver training school OR a parent-taught driver education (PTDE) course.
  6. A Texas Driver's Education Certificate (Form DE-964E), for Driver's Ed through your public high school.
  7. All completed forms for Parent Taught Driver's Education.
Once you have completed all of this paperwork, you must take the written knowledge exam (if it was not part of your driver’s education course).

How Much Does the Permit Test Cost in Texas?

Technically the permit test doesn’t cost anything in Texas. It is often done as part of the driver’s education curriculum at your local driving school. You will however have to pay a $16 learners license fee that will cover getting your learners license from the DPS.

How Many Questions is the Texas Learners Permit Test?

The learners permit test in Texas consists of 30 questions. Anyone taking the test must answer 21 questions correctly to pass. This means that a 70% accuracy rate is required to pass the Texas Learners Permit written exam. To prepare for your permit test you can use the Texas Driver Handbook or take a practice test here at DMV-written-test.com. Practice makes perfect. We even have a Texas DPS cheat sheet option available for a nominal price. You can’t go wrong with a Texas Permit Test cheat sheet that includes real questions that you’ll face on your permit exam. Rules of the road, road signs, aggressive driving, drunk driving, and distracted driving are all fair game on the test. Make sure you’re prepared!

Texas Learner’s Permit Driving Restrictions

It’s important that you respect the rules of having your Texas Learners Permit or you could have it revoked. You are allowed to practice driving and safety skills, but you are only allowed to do so when you are being supervised by an adult licensed driver in the front seat of your vehicle. You are not allowed to use your cell phone in the vehicle while driving. While this seems obvious, you’d be surprised at how many permits are revoked due to this rule being broken. Be safe out there!