2022 Pennsylvania Permit Test

Directions

The following questions are from real DMV written tests. These are some of the actual permit questions you will face in..

The following questions are from real DMV written tests. These are some of the actual permit questions you will face in Pennsylvania. Each permit practice test question has three answer choices. Select one answer for each question and select "grade this section." You can find this button at the bottom of the drivers license quiz. For a complete list of questions and answers for Pennsylvania please visit https://cheat-sheets.dmv-written-test.com/en/pennsylvania/car.

Passing grade:

When driving on wet pavement, it's important to remember:

Explanation
Wet roadway surfaces can be dangerously slick, especially immediately following a rainfall. When you are driving on wet roads, your vehicle is traveling on a thin layer of oil, dirt, and water. Slow down when there is heavy rain, standing water, or slush on the road to reduce the risk of your wheels losing traction on the slick surface.

It is illegal for a person 21 years of age or older to drive with a minimum blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of:

Explanation
For drivers age 21 or older, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. Driving while under the influence of alcohol is not only illegal, but dangerous.

At a light rail intersection, always:

Explanation
You should never drive around lowered crossing gates. Always look both ways before turning across train tracks and always obey signs and traffic signals. Trains share the road with motor vehicles and bicyclists.

What should you do when you see this sign?

alabama-railroad crossing(2)
Explanation
This sign indicates that there is a railroad crossing on the road ahead. You should always slow down when approaching a railroad crossing. Trains cannot yield to cars, so you must let them pass before crossing the tracks.

This sign is used to prevent:

new-york-one way traffic do not enter
Explanation
This sign warns that a road has one-way traffic and you must not enter from your current direction.

If a person under 21 years of age consumes alcohol but is not driving a motor vehicle, the penalty for a first offense is:

Explanation
The minimum penalties for a first underage drinking offense are a fine of up to $500, plus court costs, and a 90-day suspension.

PA DMV Permit Practice Test

It’s always important to make sure that you’re prepared for the big tests that you’ll encounter in life.  Getting your Pennsylvania Learner’s Permit via the written test is one of those huge examinations that happen throughout one’s lifetime.  The good news is that when it comes to Pennsylvania driving test practice, you’re in the right place.  We’re #1 when it comes to practice DMV permit tests online.  The Pennsylvania Learners permit test isn’t the hardest, but it is one of the larger exams one will ever take when it comes to gaining rights as a Pennsylvanian and a U.S. citizen.  Failing the Pennsylvania DOT written exam can be a costly process.  You can find yourself losing both time and money.  Preparing diligently with our free written test before you take your Pennsylvania permit test is the only way to go.

The best way to get ready for your Pennsylvania written permit test at the DPS is by taking as many practice tests as you can.  A practice test also referred to as a Pennsylvania DMV cheat sheet utilizes questions from the actual written exam you would take at the Department of Transportation.  These questions are crowdsourced from peers who have previously passed the DMV written exam.  Our Pennsylvania permit practice tests are formatted to be just like the permit test you would take at the Department of Transportation.  By finding us here at DMV-Written-Test, you can access as many permit test questions and answers as you can handle before you take your learners permit examination.

For learners who prefer learning from one sheet of paper, a Pennsylvania DMV cheat sheet is available for a nominal fee.  This puts all of the Pennsylvania test questions and answers in one simple to use and read PDF form.  Students who use this method pass at a rate of 99.2%.

Pennsylvania Learners Permit Requirements  

We know you’re ready to hit the road, but the state of Pennsylvania has several requirements you will need to meet before you can get your learner’s permit and legally hit the road with supervision.  

To reduce the number of accidents involving teenagers, Pennsylvania has joined many states in the union in implementing a Graduated Driver License (GDL) program.  As part of your PA GDL program, the first step is obtaining a driver’s permit.

How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Learner’s Permit in Florida?

To get your Pennsylvania learner’s permit, you must be at least 16 years of age.  Age does not impact the speed or ease of the testing or driver’s education courses if you are under the age of 18.

Getting Your Pennsylvania Driver’s Permit

The first step in the Pennsylvania GDL process is getting your driver’s permit.  Applying for your Pennsylvania learners permit is something that can only be done by yourself and in person.  Save yourself some time by booking your appointment with the PA DOT Driver License Center ahead of time.  This trick has saved many people hours of their day.  If you are under the 18 years of age mark, you must bring along your parent(s) or legal guardian(s). They’ll be the ones to sign off on any of the paperwork.

What Paperwork do I Need to Get My Pennsylvania Learners Permit

To get your Pennsylvania learner’s permit you will need to present the following at the PA DMV when you arrive to take your written test for driving.
  1. A completed Non-Commercial Learner’s Permit Application (Form DL-180). Note: You must have a medical professional conduct an examination and complete the required medical section of this application.
  2. A completed Parent or Guardian Consent Form (Form DL-180TD)
  3. Proof of Identity
  4. Proof of Residency
  5. Your Social Security Card
You must also pass a vision screening and a written permit test to get your PA learner’s permit.  Once you pass, you will get your Pennsylvania learner’s permit.  This is good for up to 1 year.  During that time you are intended to get your PA Junior Drivers License.

How Much Does the Permit Test Cost in Pennsylvania?

Technically the permit test doesn’t cost anything in Pennsylvania.  You will however have to pay a $35.50 learners license fee that will cover getting your learners permit from the DMV.  This is a modest amount when compared to other states and their permit fees.

How Many Questions is the Pennsylvania Learner’s Permit Test?

The Pennsylvania written test is 18 multiple-choice questions.  It is based completely on the 2021 driver’s manual provided by PennDot and also found here on our practice tests and premium cheat sheet.  You will need to get 15 of your 18 questions right in order to pass the test.  This is an accuracy of 83%

Going back to the PennDot Driver License center to retake the written permit test isn’t what anyone wants.  Make sure to pick up our PA DMV cheat sheet and give yourself a 99.2% chance of passing the test on the first attempt!

What Happens if I Fail My PA Learner’s Permit Test?

It’s never a good thing to have to take the test again.  If you fail the knowledge test, the examiner with return the Non-Commercial Learners Permit Application and your Parent or Guardian Consent Form.  

You cannot take your test again on the same day.  You will need to rebook your appointment with PennDOT.  When that depends on the time of year and business of the driver’s services department.  This stresses the importance of getting it right the first time.

Make sure you’re ready for the test.  Purchase a DMV cheat sheet in Pennsylvania to give yourself a 99.2% chance of passing on the first try!

PA Permit Behind the Wheel Requirements

When you ultimately pass and get your learner’s permit in the state of Pennsylvania, it’s time to start practicing your skills.  During the learner’s permit phase of your GDL, you must log 65 hours of supervised driving with a licensed driver.  This supervisor must be 21 years of age or older, sober, and sitting in the front seat with you.  Of your 65 hours of practice, 10 hours must be at night and 5 hours must be in inclement weather.

You will need to hold your learner’s permit for a minimum of 6 months before taking your road test and getting your Pennsylvania Junior Driver’s license.

Pennsylvania Drivers Education

While not a requirement to obtain a driver’s permit, you must complete a certified Drivers Education course in Pennsylvania to obtain your PA Drivers License.  You must complete Drivers Ed to get a full driver’s license before you turn 18 years old by state law.

You can take Driver’s Ed after receiving your Pennsylvania junior driver’s license.  This is a document you must apply for after you get your Pennsylvania learner’s permit after you meet the learner’s permit requirements. You must complete 65 hours of driving practice with 10 hours occurring at night and 5 hours occurring in inclement weather. You must also pass the driving skills test.

Drivers Ed in PA consists of both a classroom course curriculum and a behind-the-wheel instruction component.   30 hours of theory instruction occur in the classroom (or online).  6 hours of your course are spent behind the wheel with a driving instructor.

 

DMV Writen Test Logo