South Carolina driver's examination

Number of tests: 16
Number of questions: 30
Passing score: 24
Directions: South Carolina issues both five-year and ten-year licenses. If you are a United States citizen and you visit a DMV branch office to obtain an original or renewal license, you will receive a ten-year license unless you are 65 years of age or older. Persons who are 65 years of age or older may not obtain a ten year license, but will be issued a five year license

To apply for a beginner’s permit, you must be at least 15 years of age or older. You must provide a birth certificate, social security card or its equivalent, proof of residency, and must pass the vision and knowledge tests.

The Knowledge tests include 30 multiple choice questions

If you answer at least 24 questions correctly from the sample tests provided here you will be well prepared to take the knowledge test for your learner's permit.
You have made error so far
Passing grade —
6 or fewer errors
advertising
1.
When you see a flashing yellow light at an intersection, you should:
Yield to all traffic before crossing the intersection.
Stop, then enter the intersection when it is safe to do so.
Slow down and cross the intersection carefully.
2.
A solid yellow line on your side of the centerline means:
Reduce your speed.
Traffic light ahead.
Do not pass.
3.
Drivers who refuse to submit to a chemical test upon request by a law enforcement official will lose their license for:
One month.
Three months.
Six months.
4.
If you plan to turn at an intersection, you should start to signal 50 to 75 feet before your turn.
True
False
5.
When a car with bright headlights drives toward you at night, you should:
Stop until the other driver passes.
Look below their headlights.
Glance toward the right edge of your lane.
6.
You are approaching an intersection with a steady yellow traffic light. If you have not already entered the intersection, you should:
Speed up to beat the red light.
Reduce you speed and proceed carefully through the intersection.
Come to a safe stop.
7.
Which drivers are subject to the South Carolina Point System?
Permit holders
All drivers
Intermediate drivers only
Drivers over 65 years of age
8.
When driving in fog, you should:
Slow down and use your low beam headlights.
Slow down and use your high beam headlights.
Turn your lights on and off to warn other drivers.
Rate this test
4.9 out of 5
based on 33 votes
Our Latest Videos
Ace Your DMV Written Test
Get your Cheat Sheet Now!