DMV Practice Test NC 2021
|Number of tests: ||22|
|Number of questions: ||37|
|Passing score: ||29|
When you apply for a North Carolina DMV driver’s license or instruction permit as required, you will be given a test consisting of several parts, with all of them being compulsory. You will be required to answer questions about traffic laws and to identify certain signs by their shape, color, or the symbol appearing on them. The questions are based on the information provided in the North Carolina driver's manual. Studying the manual before taking sample DMV driver's tests is highly recommended.
You have made error so far
Passing grade —
or fewer road sign errors
5 or fewer road rules errors
North Carolina DMV Practice Test
Are you getting ready to take your NC driver’s license test? You’ve come to the right place. Taking your North Carolina permit test at the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles is one of the biggest hurdles we face in the process of getting a driver's license. Driving is one of the most dangerous things each of us does every day. Being astute in road rules and safety practices will not only help you pass your permit exam, but will make you a safer driver as well. Making sure to take a North Carolina DMV practice test before experiencing the real thing is key to making this all go smoothly.
We don’t like to leave important things in life to chance. An NC permit practice test is one of the best things you can do for yourself in terms of preparedness and being ready for the North Carolina DMV. At DMV-Written-Test.com, we run you through practice questions that appear on the DMV permit test in NC.
Don’t have a lot of time? Upgrade to a North Carolina DMV cheat sheet to help you pass the test with ease. Our NC DMV cheat sheet gives you all of the questions and answers you will face in pdf form! There’s no excuse for not knocking this one out of the park. With us, passing your permit test is virtually guaranteed.
North Carolina Learner’s Permit Requirements
Before you can take your North Carolina Learner’s permit exam you’ll need to make sure you meet the requirements set by the state.
The North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (NC DMV) is in control of the Learners Permits in North Carolina. The permit process is part of the Graduated Driver’s Licensing program (GDL). The first major step to getting your North Carolina Driver’s License is obtaining an NC permit.
NC Drivers Education
If you’re looking to get your North Carolina Learner’s permit, you’ll need to take an NC driver's education course. Students who are 14.5 years or older can take driver's education at their high school as long as they’re pursuing a diploma. If you're enrolled in a GED you are also eligible for driver's education from 14.5 on.
Your driver's education course will consist of a classroom portion that involves 30 hours of instruction and an eye exam. There is also a driving phase. This section includes six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction.
North Carolina Driving Eligibility Certificate
Students enrolled in a high school who are meeting academic requirements will be issued a Driving Eligibility Certificate. This certificate is given to them by their high school of record. To receive a North Carolina Driving Eligibility Certificate, an applicant must be aged between the years of 15 and 17. They also must be currently enrolled in school. Minimum passing requirements and progress towards a high school diploma or GED are also required.
Wondering what happens for students who are attending high schools outside of North Carolina? They can obtain an eligibility certificate from the public school they would be enrolled in if they weren’t enrolled in an out-of-state institution.
North Carolina Learners Permit Age Requirements
To take your North Carolina learner’s permit test, you must be at least 15 years of age. At this stage, you must also have completed a driver's education course with your high school or educational entity (for those completing a GED). No online courses are available in North Carolina unless it is for ticket dismissal. Any advertisements in the North Carolina teen driver’s ed category should be ignored as illegitimate.
What Paperwork do I Need to Get My North Carolina Learner’s Permit
If you’re wondering what paperwork you need for your North Carolina Learner’s Permit, you’re not alone. You’ll need the following items to submit in person at the DMV in North Carolina:
Once all of your paperwork is in order and filed with the DMV, your parent(s) or legal guardian(s) will have to sign your application form. From there you’ll have to pay a small fee and pass a written exam and road signs test. You’ll also need to pass an eye exam.
- Proof of Identity and Birth Date (Birth Certificate/Passport)
- Social Security Number
- Proof of Legal Presence (for non-US Citizens)
- Proof of North Carolina Residency
- One document for ID that is not compliant as a form of federal identification
- Two documents for an ID that is compliant as a form of federal identification.
- Proof of Completion for a North Carolina Drivers Ed Course
- North Carolina Driving Eligibility Certificate
What is the cost of a North Carolina Learner’s Permit?
The cost of a North Carolina Learner’s permit can be found in the fee paid at the DMV at the time of the written exam, road signs test, and eye exam. You can expect to pay $21.50. This fee is payable by cash, check, and money order.
How Many Questions Are on the NC Learners Permit Test?
There are 25 questions on the North Carolina Learner’s Permit written test. You must get 20 of these questions right to pass the permit test. That’s an accuracy rate of 80%. Your Learner's Permit test also includes 12 questions on road signs. You must get 7 of 10 correct to pass your road signs section. That’s an accuracy rate of 70%.
Want to make sure you pass your NC learners permit test on the first try? The best and only way to ensure you pass is to take an NC DMV practice test with DMV-written-test.com. With real questions from the North Carolina permit test, you can’t be more prepared. There is even a cheat sheet option for those who aren’t looking to waste time.
Learner’s Permit Driving Restrictions
You will be subject to several restrictions after you pass your exam and get your North Carolina learners permit. You must be accompanied by a licensed parent, guardian, or adult that has been granted permission. Regardless of the relationship, your supervising patron must have held a valid driver’s license for at least five years. The adult must be seated next to you in the front passenger seat at all times.
For the first six months, learners permit holders are restricted to driving outside of the hours of 5 am to 9 pm. Once six months have elapsed a permit holder can drive at any time as long as they are supervised by the required adult listed above.
Though these seem obvious, it’s worth noting that you cannot drive without all car passengers having a valid seat belt. If you’re driving an infant or child of the appropriate age, they must be in a car seat. Texting while driving is always prohibited in North Carolina unless it is an absolute emergency and you are pulled over.