2022 Tennessee Permit Test

Directions

The following questions are from real DMV written tests. These are some of the actual permit questions you will face in..

The following questions are from real DMV written tests. These are some of the actual permit questions you will face in Tennessee. Each permit practice test question has three answer choices. Select one answer for each question and select "grade this section." You can find this button at the bottom of the drivers license quiz. For a complete list of questions and answers for Tennessee please visit https://cheat-sheets.dmv-written-test.com/en/tennessee/car.

Passing grade:

Sudden wind gusts on highways:

Explanation
While it can create special problems for large vehicles, strong wind can cause problems for all drivers. Wind can lower visibility by blowing dirt and dust into the roadway, but it can sometimes also physically move a vehicle.

Make room for cars that are entering the freeway by:

Explanation
Make room for vehicles that are entering a freeway. If possible, merge into the next lane to create a gap for the incoming vehicles. If you cannot merge, adjust your speed to allow for the vehicles to enter traffic as smoothly and safely as possible.

If it is necessary to make an emergency stop while driving on an interstate, you should:

Explanation
If you must stop on the shoulder of the interstate or highway, turn on your emergency flashers to warn other drivers and stay inside your vehicle, if you can. The extremely high speed of traffic makes standing or walking along an interstate highway very dangerous.

When passing on the left of a vehicle, it is safe to move back into the right lane:

Explanation
When passing another vehicle on its left, you may move back into the right lane when the headlights of the passed vehicle can be seen in your rearview mirror. Always signal before changing lanes.

When driving in fog, rain, or snow, use:

Explanation
Low beam headlights should be used in fog, rain, and snow. The light from high beams will reflect back to the driver under these weather conditions, causing a glare that will make it difficult to see ahead.

A broken yellow centerline indicates that:

Explanation
A broken yellow centerline next to your side of the road indicates that traffic may cross the centerline to pass from your side of the road.

A steady yellow traffic signal light is a warning that the light is about to change to red. If you are already within the intersection when a green light changes to yellow, you should:

Explanation
If you are already within an intersection when the traffic light turns yellow, you should clear the intersection as quickly as possible.

The law states that upon the conviction of a DUI, when the violator has not previously been convicted of a DUI, the penalty will be:

Explanation
A DUI conviction, when the violator has not previously been convicted of a DUI, is punishable by a 48-hour jail sentence (or seven days in jail for driving with a BAC of 0.20 percent or more), a fine of between $350 and $1,500, and a one-year license revocation.

Permit Test TN Practice

Are you preparing to take your Tennessee driving test?  You’ve come to the right place when it comes to Permit Test TN practice.  The permit test in Tennessee is known to be difficult.  It should be.  Passing at the Tennessee Department of Driver Services can be a pressure-filled experience that makes many quite anxious.  The test is difficult because driving is one of the biggest rights you will ever earn as an American citizen.  Make sure you get ready for the Tennessee Department of Motor Vehicles.  Take a Tennesse Drivers practice test before you head to the DMV!  

One of the best ways to ease anxiety and ensure you’re ready for your exam is by taking a Tennessee DMV practice test.  Here at DMV Written Test, you can take practice permit tests with questions that were actually administered on real permit tests.  We crowdsource real Tennessee driving test questions and answers from students who have already completed and passed their exams.  You can now take as many Tennessee practice permit tests as you need to.  Make sure you pass the first time!

Don’t have time for practice tests?  Perhaps you prefer a .pdf or one-page type of study approach?  Our Tennessee DMV cheat sheet gives you access to DMV permit test questions and answers in one place for a minimal cost.  It’s worth it for those who want to pass with as little difficulty as possible.

How to Get Your Tennessee Driver’s Permit

The Tennessee Driver Services Division and Department of Safety require all potential new drivers younger than the age of 18 to fulfill the requirements of the graduated driver licensing program.  This is also known as the Tennessee GDL.  The program is designed to develop your driving skills gradually and in stages.  This reduces the chances of car accidents and limits risk for fellow Tennessee drivers on the roads.  There are three stages to getting your GDL: learner’s permit, intermediate restricted license, and intermediate unrestricted license.  The TN lerner’s permit test is the first step in getting your license.

What Paperwork Will I Need to Get My Tennessee Learner’s Permit

Are you wondering what paperwork will be required to get your Tennessee Learner’s Permit?  The process can be intimidating.  It’s important to know exactly what you need before you go to the Tennessee DMV so you don’t find yourself doing this process twice and wasting a ton of time.  

The Driver Services division requires the following paperwork when you are getting your learner’s permit and driver's license.  

  1. Proof of U.S. Citizenship or Legal Presence
  2. Proof of any Name changes if your name is now different from what it is on your Proof of U.S. Citizenship or Legal Presence.  
  3. Proof of Full Social Security Number (Social Security Card)
  4. Two Proofs of Tennessee Residences.  One must be dated within the last 4 months.  No P.O. Boxes are allowed as proof of Tennessee Residence in any circumstance.
  5. Proof of Attendance from your school (Form SF-1010)
  6. Have your parent or guardian sign a Minor/Teenage Affidavit and Cancellation (Form SF-0259) if you are under 18 years of age.
Remember, all documents are subject to verification with the issuing agency.  If this does happen, it could delay the issuance of your permit or driver’s license.  All documents must be original and not photocopies.

How Much Does the Tennessee Learner’s Permit Test Cost

There is no fee for the administration of your permit test in Tennessee.  There is a general $10.50 learner’s permit fee that is paid when paperwork is submitted at the Tennessee Department of Driver Services.

How Many Questions are on the Tennessee DMV Written Test?

The Tennessee DMV Written Test has 30 questions on it.  To pass you will need to get 24 of the questions correct.  This is an accuracy rate of 80%.   The written permit test contains questions that are all multiple choice based.  You will be tested on traffic signs and signals, rules of the road, distracted driving, drunk driving, and safe driving principles.  To best prepare for your test, you should try one of our Tennessee DMV cheat sheets.

What if I Fail My Tennessee Permit Test?

If you didn’t pass your Tennessee Permit test, it’s important to know that it’s not over.  You may retake the test as many times as it takes to pass.  You will have to wait 7 days each time a failing grade occurs to retake the exam.

Failing your Tennessee permit test can be a costly experience when it comes to both time and money.  Make sure you’re prepared before you head into the Tennessee Department of Motor Vehicles.  Our Tennessee DMV Cheat sheet virtually guarantees you’ll pass your permit exam.  We help thousands pass each and every day.

Tennessee Learners Permit Driving Restrictions

There are several restrictions you will be subject to while you hold a Tennessee learner’s permit and are driving.  You must be accompanied by a licensed adult who is at least 21 years of age and sober.  You are not permitted to drive between the hours of 10 pm and 6 am.  Remember, you are not permitted to drive if you are not certified.

The Tennessee DOS requires you to complete 50 hours of driving practice.  Night driving must also have 10 hours completed (as part of the 50 overall hours).  

Drivers Education in Tennessee

Tennessee is one of the rare states in the US where Drivers Education is not required for teenagers to get their driver’s license.  The Tennessee Department of Safety only requires you to complete a driver’s education course when you have been convicted of multiple moving violations during the tenure of your intermediate restricted license.  

If you get two moving violations while on your restricted driver’s license in Tennessee, you then must complete Drivers Education with an approved provider.  You will not be able to get an unrestricted TN driver’s license until this is completed.

While it is not required to obtain your permit or license, Drivers Education is one of the more helpful things you can do to prepare yourself for your permit test and driving test.  Courses are offered online, in High Schools, and with certified state driving schools.

Remember, Drivers Education isn’t a defensive driving course.  They are completely different things.  If you are in the permitting process and want a course, it’s Tennessee driver’s education that you’re looking for.

DMV Writen Test Logo