DMV Driving Test Practice 2021
|Number of tests: ||24|
|Number of questions: ||50|
|Passing score: ||40|
When you apply for a New Jersey DMV driver’s license or instruction permit as required, you will be given a test consisting of several parts, with all of them being compulsory. You will be required to answer questions about traffic laws and to identify certain signs by their shape, color, or the symbol appearing on them. The questions are based on the information provided in the New Jersey driver's manual. Studying the manual before taking sample DMV driver's tests is highly recommended.
You have made error so far
Passing grade —
10 or fewer errors
NJ Permit Test Practice
Are you getting ready to head to the NJ DMV to take your New Jersey permit test? You’re not the only one searching for tips on how to pass. The New Jersey driver’s license test is one of the biggest you will ever take. When it comes to gaining rights, there’s no bigger exam that you will take in your life. Failing the permit test in New Jersey can cause a fair share of inconvenient complications. Make sure you take a DMV NJ practice test before you head in to take the real thing. Practice makes perfect. We help thousands of people across the nation each day in passing their learner’s permit test.
The NJ DMV permit test isn’t easy. You won’t pass this exam without practicing and perfecting your knowledge of driving skills first. For the best NJ knowledge test practice, simply take as many New Jersey driving test practice tests as you need here at DMV-written-test.com. All of the questions on our New Jersey DMV practice tests come from actually administered permit tests. These are crowdsourced and submitted by students who have passed the exam. We fact-check them and present them in quiz form for free!
Don’t have time for practice tests? Prefer to study off of a one-sheet question and answer guide? Our premium NJ DMV Cheatsheet offering gives you access to what is essentially an NJ driving test questions and answers pdf for the 2021 calendar year. With this cheat sheet, our students have a 99.2% pass rate on the New Jersey permit test.
How to Get Your New Jersey Learners Permit
The state of New Jersey and the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) participate in the graduated driver’s license program (GDL). The GDL program guides the restrictions and regulations you will have to adhere to get your first-time driver’s license. There are different roads you will have to follow based on how old you are. The Early Bird Road, The Young Adult Road, and The Adult road each begin with getting a learner’s permit.
How Old Do I Have to Be to Get a Learners Permit in New Jersey?
To get your learner’s permit in New Jersey, you must be at least 16 years of age. There are two different types of learner’s permits available in NJ based on how old you are. If you are 16 years of age, you are eligible for a student learner’s permit. If you are 17 years of age, you are eligible for an examination permit. Age does impact how quickly you can get your full driver’s license. Make sure to check with your local New Jersey DMV for the latest information around rules and regulations.
Drivers Education in New Jersey
Teenagers in New Jersey can expect to take a Drivers Education course as part of the GDL process. Drivers Ed in NJ improves skillsets but also prepares students with safe driving habits that are integral to surviving the hazards that roads can throw us on a daily basis. If you are 16, you must complete a driver’s training program to satisfy the student learners permit phase of the program (covered in more detail below). Unfortunately, Drivers Education isn’t available online in New Jersey. Every course you take will include 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. It will also have an in-course section where you will learn about road rules, defensive driving habits, and other integral driving skills.
GDL Learners Permit Details in New Jersey
Consistent rules apply to each of the three permit roads despite there being different processes and paperwork for each. You will be eligible for your probationary driver’s license once you have held your examination permit for 6 months (3 months if you are 21 or older). Your driver’s permit will be valid for two years time. If it expires, you will need to apply for it and start again. All drivers with a learner’s permit, examination permit, or probationary license must display a red reflectorized decal on their vehicle. This must be placed on the upper left corner of both the front and the back license plate. Not abiding by these restrictions will result in a $100 fine if caught.
What Paperwork Do I Need to Get My New Jersey Learner’s Permit?
There is different paperwork and process for each of the Learner’s Permit roads. Make sure to pay attention to what you need. If you don’t bring the correct documentation to the DMV you will surely be making a second visit. They’re sticklers on this stuff!
Student Learners Permit
To obtain your student learners permit you will need to visit your local New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. You must also be/submit the following:
Once you complete all of these steps at the NJ MVC, you’ll need to pay the $10 student permit fee. After that, all that needs to happen is your course instructor must purchase the permit!
- Be at least 16 years of age
- Pass your knowledge exam. (You can also submit a blue high school test waiver if you passed at your high school)
- Pass your vision test
- Present a primary form of ID
- Present your social security card
- Show Proof of Enrollment in an approved NJ Drivers Ed Course
- Have a signed letter of consent from your parent(s) or legal guardian(s).
Examination Learners Permit
If you’re 17 or older, you don’t have to apply for a student learner’s permit. Instead, you get to apply for an examination permit at the New Jersey MVC. You must also be/submit the following:
Once you complete all of these steps at the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, you’ll need to pay the $10 student permit fee. You must hold this permit in good standing for 6 months at a minimum before you are allowed to graduate to the next level. This learner’s permit, like all of the other learner’s permits in New Jersey, is valid for 2 years. At the end of two years, you’ll have to begin the process again.
- Be at least 17 years of age
- Complete an Auto Permit Application. This form is only available at the MVC and is known as Form BA-412D.
- Pass your knowledge exam.
- Pass your vision test.
- Present your required proof of the 6 point ID verification.
Examination Learners Permit for Adults
For those aged 21 and older, you are eligible for an Adult Examination Permit at your local MVC. You must also be/submit the following:
Once you complete all these steps at the NJ MVC, you’ll need to pay the $10 student permit fee. The permit will be validated on the spot so you can get practicing.
- Be at least 21 years of age
- Pass your knowledge exam
- Pass your vision test.
- Present your required proof of the 6 point ID verification.
How Much Does the New Jersey Learner’s Permit Cost?
The cost of a learner’s permit and administration of a learner’s permit test in New Jersey is comparable to the fee seen for teen drivers in many other states. A $10 student permit fee will be payable to the NJ MVC.
How Many Questions are on the New Jersey Learner’s Permit Test?
The New Jersey learners’ permit test consists of 50 multiple-choice questions. You must answer 40 questions correctly to pass the exam. This is an accuracy rate of 80%. The test covers road signs, traffic laws, and rules of the road. Questions are often presented in a “scenario format” giving you specific “if-then” situations to help emphasize safe driving practices. Examples of topics covered on the test are distracted driving, right-of-way laws at intersections, and braking and speed limits.
When compared to other permit tests, New Jersey has a lot of questions on its exam. This can make passing more difficult as there are more questions to miss. Make sure you’re ready. Take a few NJ DMV practice tests. Don’t forget to check out our NJ DMV cheat sheet which provides you access to real DMV questions and answers all in PDF form.
What Happens If I Fail My New Jersey Permit Test?
Not everyone passes their New Jersey permit test the first time. With our NJ DMV cheat sheet, you’re guaranteed to pass. Not everyone chooses this route and, as they say, hindsight is 20/20. You have 90 days to retake your New Jersey permit test and have two more attempts before you’ll have to restart the process. You’ll be charged a reexamination fee each time you need to take your NJ permit test.
Failing your permit test in New Jersey can be a costly ordeal in both time and money. It’s always best to be prepared. Make sure you take a New Jersey DMV practice test with us. Better yet, grab a New Jersey DMV cheat sheet for the ultimate ease and readiness.
Learners Permit Restrictions
Depending on which road you took for your learner’s permit, there are different restrictions that you must adhere to. Make sure to read the following for the category that you belong to. Violating permit restrictions can result in huge fines or even the revocation of your learner’s permit.
Student Learners Permit Restrictions
With a student learner’s permit, you must be accompanied in the front seat by an NJ license driver. This driver must be at least 21 and have 3 years of previous driving experience. You are not permitted to drive between the hours of 11:01 a.m. and 5 am. You may only have one passenger in the car with you from another household. This rule changes if you are accompanied by your parent or guardian. In this case, you are allowed to transport parents, guardians, and dependants.
Examination Learners Permit Restrictions
With an examination learner’s permit, you may only drive while accompanied by a licensed New Jersey driver. This driver must be at least 21 years old and have 3 years of previous driving experience. Your supervising driver must ride in the front seat beside you while you drive the car. Like the student learners permit, you are not permitted to drive between the horse of 11:01 a.m. and 5 a.m.
The examination learners permit offers an exemption that can be made for employment or religious reasons. Documentation is required from the employer, organization, or religious institution to request you be able to drive. This document must also have the official's signature, title, and address.
Adult Examination Permit Restrictions
The Adult examination permit’s primary benefit is that it does not come with any restricted driving hours. Limitations still apply. Like the other two permit selections, you must be accompanied by a driver who is 21 years of age or older. This driver must have at least three years of driving experience. This supervisor must ride in the front seat beside you.