Illinois DMV Practice Test 2021
|Number of tests: ||16|
|Number of questions: ||35|
|Passing score: ||28|
When you apply for an Illinois DMV driver’s license or instruction permit as required, you will be given a test consisting of several parts, with all of them being compulsory. You will be required to answer questions about traffic laws and to identify certain signs by their shape, color, or the symbol appearing on them. The questions are based on the information provided in the Illinois driver's manual. Studying the manual before taking sample DMV driver's tests is highly recommended."
You have made error so far
Passing grade —
7 or fewer errors
Illinois Driving License Practice Test
Are you getting ready to take your Illinois Driving test? You’ve come to the right place. When it comes to a DMV study guide resource, we are the #1 place on the internet to prepare for your permit test. The Illinois driver’s license test is known to be difficult. Taking a driving license practice test long before you arrive at the Driver Services office is always the right decision.
Taking an Illinois practice permit test is the best possible thing you can do to get ready for your in-person Illinois driver's license test at the Driver Services office. Once completed correctly, a practice test from us will essentially give you an Illinois driving test questions and answers PDF. All of the questions come from actual past administered tests. This is the best way to pass your Illinois driving test in 2021.
Don’t have time to run through a free Illinois DMV practice test? Try our Illinois DMV cheat sheet for a marginal cost. It gives you all of the Illinois DMV questions and answers in one place.
Illinois Learners Permit Requirements
We know you’re very anxious to hit the road. Who wouldn’t be? Driving is the ultimate freedom to do things. Before we can get you on the road with your driver's permit, there are a few things we’re going to have to take care of to appease the state of Illinois Department of Motor Vehicles.
Illinois Learners Permit Age Requirements
To take your Illinois Learners Permit test and receive your Illinois instruction permit when you are aged 15-17, you must be either currently enrolled in a state-approved drivers education course or provide proof that you’re less than 30 days away from beginning one. The Drivers Education you choose must include 30 hours of classroom instruction and also include 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. The only places you can take Drivers Ed are with your high school or from a certified provider.
Online Drivers Education in Illinois
Many people prefer to learn online and with the pandemic it has become more and more common. Unfortunately, the state of Illinois does not allow online drivers education. Many online providers still market a product but it is only intended to be practice-oriented. It can’t be used or completed with the expectation of it being an officially recognized course. Only in-person courses with certified instructors are approved at this time.
Getting Your Illinois Learner’s Permit
The documents you will be required to bring with you to the Secretary of State will differ slightly depending on if you want your driver’s license to be an ID-compliant one or not. The processes are virtually identical. You’ll need to bring a few more documents with you if you want your driver’s license to serve as an official form of identification for use in other regulated matters by the state.
Remember, when you head to your local Driver Services office as a minor you must be accompanied by your parent or legal guardian to verify their consent.
What Paperwork do I Need to Get My Illinois Learner’s Permit
To prove your identity in the state of Illinois, you’ll need the following documentation.
- Proof of identity and date of birth. (Birth certificate is recommended. A passport can also establish this).
- Social Security Number
- Proof of Residency. This is where the difference in the process comes in for the compliant and non-compliant ID validity of a Driver’s License. If you would like your ID to be compliant with official documentation, you must bring two (2) documents to prove your residency. If you don’t want your ID to be compliant, only one (1) document is required.
- Proof of enrollment in a Drivers Education course.
How Much Does the Permit Test Cost in Illinois?
If you’re headed to the Driver Services office to take your written permit test, make sure you have a form of payment available. The cost of the Illinois permit test is $20. Cash and card are normally accepted by all public offices. Make sure to verify that check is applicable with your local office as policies do differ.
What Happens If I Fail my Illinois Permit Test?
Don’t worry. If you fail your first attempt at your Illinois permit test, you can attempt the exam again whenever you’re ready. You’ll be able to try and pass the test three times in a 12 month period. With only three attempts, it’s best to make sure you practice before you head in for your test. Make sure to engage with one of our Illinois practice permit test pages or download an Illinois DMV cheat sheet.
Behind the Wheel Driving Requirements
Once you receive your permit you’ll need to complete 50 hours of supervised driving with a parent or adult over the age of 21. This parent or adult must also have a valid and current driver’s license. 10 hours of the 50 required for your GDL (Graduated Drivers License) must be night driving.
Restrictions to your Illinois Learner’s Permit
There are certain restrictions that must be adhered to with your Illinois Learners Permit. During the first 50 hours of your GDL/Learner’s Permit, you may only drive with one passenger in your front seat and only as many passengers as there are seat belts in the back seat. Failure to carry your learner’s permit results in the loss of ability to obtain a driver’s license until the age of 18.
Driving is restricted for permit holders during the hours of 10 pm to 6 am on Sunday-Thursday. It is also restricted between the hours of 11 pm and 6 am Friday and Saturday. You are not allowed to use your cell phone while driving a motor vehicle at any time unless it is an emergency and you are pulled over. You are also never allowed to text and drive.