Nevada DMV Handbook and Regulations FAQ
If you reside in the state of Nevada or are planning to in the near future, then it’s highly advisable that you pick up and read a complete, up-to-date copy of the official Nevada State DMV handbook. However, you are also free to peruse the following FAQs about Nevada driving laws, the process of applying for a license or learner’s permit, and proper safety practices.
What documents do I need to present when I apply for a Nevada driver’s license?
You will need a government-recognized form of identification such as:
- A state-issued birth certificate (either the original or a properly certified copy)
- A valid United States passport or passport card
- Official consular report of birth abroad (also known as a FS-240)
- Other form of official government-recognized ID, such as an out of state driver’s license, instruction permit, or state ID card.
Those born outside of the United States or other limited-term residents will need to present proper certificates of naturalization or citizenship.
How old do you have to be to apply for a Nevada state driver’s license?
In Nevada, you must be 16 years of age before you can officially apply for your driver’s license. However, you can apply for your learner’s permit if you’re 15 ½.
What other requirements do I need to meet before I can get approved for my learner’s permit?
In addition to being 15 ½ years of age at the time of application, you must also be able to provide proof of your identity with one of the documents listed above. You also must be able to prove residency in the state of Nevada, as well as provide your social security number.
If you are under the age of 18, a parent or legal guardian must sign a financial responsibility agreement, as well as a Minor Affidavit Sheet that verifies all of the personal identification you provide. You must also take an approved driver’s education course if under the age of 18. This can be done either through your high school or via a Nevada state DMV driving school.
Does Nevada require me to pass an eye exam in order to obtain my license?
Yes. You will need a score of 20/40 in at least one of your eyes in order to qualify. If you require glasses or contacts in order to see properly, your license will receive a “Restriction A” qualification. You will also be required by law to wear your prescription eyewear at all times when behind the wheel.
What else do I need to know about applying for my Nevada driver’s license?
After you complete and turn in your application, you’ll receive a paper interim to use until your official permit arrives in the mail after about 10 days. In order to qualify for your license, you’ll need to complete a minimum of 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driver’s training, either alongside an instructor or another licensed adult. At least 10 of these hours must be completed at night time. Consider keeping track of your hours logged in your Beginning Driver’s Log so that you can bring it with you when you arrive at the DMV for official road test.
How many questions will be on my written test and what does my score need to be in order to pass?
The Nevada state DMV written test to obtain your learner’s permit will have 50 multiple choice questions. You must answer a minimum of 40 questions correctly in order to receive a passing score. To increase your chances of scoring well, make sure you go over the entirety of the Nevada state DMV handbook before arriving to take your test. Consider using an additional practice aid, such as a practice permit test.
What happens if I fail the test?
Roughly half of all first-time test takers will not pass the written permit test on the first try. If this happens to you, you will need to wait a minimum of one day to take the test again. As touched on above, use of adequate practice aids can help you make sure you pass on the first try.
Who qualifies for a Nevada state restricted license?
If you do not qualify for a standard Nevada state driver’s license because of age restrictions or other limitations, you might qualify for a restricted license. If you are at least 14 years of age and can demonstrate family hardship, you might be able to obtain such a license to drive yourself to and from school. If you have had your driving privileges suspended or revoked and have served the requirements of said suspension or revocation, you may also qualify for a restricted license. To apply, visit your nearest DMV field office and fill out the appropriate application.
What is the Nevada state Demerit Point System?
Nevada’s driver improvement program utilizes a demerit point system that assigns specific point values to all traffic violations. This value is added to your ongoing driver record each time the DMV receives notice of a conviction from the courts. The points you accumulate are valid over a 12-month period. If you receive 12 or more points within that period, your license will be suspended. You can also have points removed by attending a state-approved driver’s safety school.
What are Nevada’s penalties for driving under the influence (DUI)?
Nevada is a state that is notoriously tough on those that choose to drive under the influence. There are two different types of penalties under Nevada law. They are:
- Administrative: This term describes action taken by the Nevada DMV. This action may be taken independently of any court findings.
- Criminal: This term describes action that will be taken against the offending driver by the actual Nevada court system.
Penalties vary, but they can definitely include suspension or revocation of your driving privileges, hefty fines, and various degrees of criminal action up to and including jail time. In fact, you are found by an officer to have been driving with a blood alcohol level of .08% or higher, the officer can confiscate your license on the spot.