Louisiana DMV Handbook and Regulations FAQ
Those planning on applying for their Louisiana state driver’s license or learner’s permit will be required to know all of the information contained in the official state DMV handbook. However, the following FAQs can give you a preview in regards to what you need to know and what you can expect from your experience with the DMV going forward.
I’m a teen looking to apply for my first Louisiana driver’s license. What criteria am I expected to meet?
If you are applying for your first license, then you’ll need to satisfy all of the requirements of the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles graduated driver’s program (GDL for short). This program will provide you with all of the training and information you need in order to be a safe and responsible Louisiana driver. Then you’ll be ready to apply for your learner’s permit.
When you arrive at the DMV to apply for your permit, make sure you bring your parent or legal guardian with you, as they will need to sign your application. You will also need to present the following documents and information.
- A certified copy of your birth certificate that shows you are at least 15 years of age.
- Your social security card or other secondary form of ID. Acceptable options include a school photo ID, a report card, or a school transcript.
- Your driver’s education certificate of completion. The certificate proves that you have completed 30 hours of classroom education, as well as 8 hours of behind-the-wheel training.
- A Certificate of Required Attendance from your school or a Home Study Approval Notification Letter from the state Department of Education if you are home-schooled.
- Payment for the $21.50 application fee.
I’m a relocated driver with an existing learner’s permit or driver’s license. How do I have it transferred to Louisiana?
In order to transfer your out-of-state driver’s license or permit, you must be at least 16 years old. You also must have held your license for a minimum of 180 days. You will not be required by the state to complete a new round of driver’s education. However, you must complete the process of transferring your license or permit within 30 days of becoming a Louisiana resident. You’ll be expected to:
- Surrender your existing license to the DMV.
- Provide proper proof of your identity, such as a birth certificate, a passport, or a military ID.
- Provide the DMV with your social security number.
- Show a Certificate of Required Attendance from your school if you are a teen driver.
- Pass a vision exam, as well as a road test if deemed necessary.
- Pay a fee of $24.50, as well as any and all other state fees that may apply.
Please note that if you are 17 years of age or younger, you will need to bring a parent or legal guardian to the DMV with you. Make sure your parent brings a state-recognized photo ID, as they will be asked to prove their identity.
What are the age requirements associated with different types of Louisiana driving privileges?
In Louisiana, you must be 15 years old to qualify for a learner’s permit. You need to be 16 years old to have an intermediate driver’s license. You need to be 17 years old in order to qualify for a standard driver’s license that comes with complete driver’s privileges.
Once I have my learner’s permit, what qualifications do I need to meet before I can take my road test?
Once you’ve successfully gotten your learner’s permit, you are allowed to drive only while accompanied by a licensed adult that is at least 21 years of age. Alternatively, you can drive with a licensed sibling that is at least 18 years of age. Once you’ve held your permit for a minimum of 180 days and have completed at least 50 hours of supervised driving (with 15 of those hours driven during nighttime hours), you can take your DMV behind-the-wheel road test.
Do I need to make an appointment to schedule my road test with the Louisiana DMV?
Yes. As is the case with most states, you cannot simply walk into the DMV and ask to take your road test. The test needs to be scheduled ahead of time via telephone or online. You can also make an appointment in person if you like.
What do I need to bring with me when I show up for my road test appointment?
You will be expected to provide the vehicle that will be used for the road test. It must be in good working order and completely compliant in regards to all Louisiana safety laws. You will also need to bring proof that the vehicle is registered and insured, as well as your learner’s permit and proof that you’ve completed all of the required training hours (if deemed applicable).
What if I fail the road test on the first try?
If you fail, you will be allowed to retake the exam after a specified waiting period. The same goes for the written test you will take when applying for your permit. You can greatly maximize your chances of passing the written test the first time around by studying with a good practice test. When it comes to the road test, hands-on practice makes perfect. There’s no such thing as too much!
What is the minimum score required in order to pass the DMV written test?
All of the questions on the written exam will cover information contained in the official Louisiana state DMV handbook, so make sure you study it thoroughly. You must receive a score of 80% in order to pass.
What are my options for renewing my Louisiana state driver’s license?
Your Louisiana driver’s license will be valid for four years and expire on your birthday. You will receive a renewal notice from the DMV roughly 100 days before the expiration date. The notice will let you know what your options are for renewing. However, your possible options will potentially include renewing in person, renewing by mail, and renewing online.