California driver's examination

Number of tests: 15
Number of questions: 36
Passing score: 30
Directions: Study the driver handbook before you take the test.
Each question has three answer choices. Choose one answer and mark an X in the box across from the answer. Do not talk while taking the test, use any books or notes, or cell phone, or electronic devices, or leave the test area before your test has been graded. It may result in a test failure and you may be suspended or revoked.
You have made error so far
Passing grade —
6 or fewer errors for original applicants
3 or fewer errors for renewal applicants
advertising
1.
California's "Basic Speed Law" says you must
Keep your speed close to that of other traffic
Always drive at the posted speed limit
Never drive faster than is safe for current conditions
2.
For which of the following traffic lights must you always stop your vehicle:
Solid red lights, red arrows and flashing yellow lights
Solid red lights, flashing red lights and yellow lights
Solid red lights, flashing red lights and blacked out traffic signals
3.
You may drive in a bike lane
No more than 200 feet before making a right turn
if you drive slower than 15mph
whenever bicyclists are not present
4.
Drivers are required to obey instructions from
Other drivers whose vehicles are broken down on the roadway
Flaggers (signal persons) at construction sites
security guards patrolling parking lots
5.
Driving under the influence of any medication which impairs your driving is permitted
under no circumstances
if you don't feel drowsy
if it is prescribed by a physician
6.
You are driving on a city street and see an emergency vehicle with flashing lights behind you. What should you do?
Drive to the right edge of the road and slow down
Drive to the right edge of the road and stop
Stay in your lane, slow down, and let it pass
7.
You must notify the DMV within 5 days if you:
Sell or Transfer your vehicle
Are cited for a traffic violation
Paint your vehicle of a different color
8.
Tailgating other drivers (driving too close to their rear bumper)
reduces collisions by preventing from being "cut off"
Can frustrate other drivers and make them angry
cannot result in traffic violation
9.
It is illegal for a person 21 years of age or older to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) that is___________ or higher
0.05% -- five hundredths of one percent
0.08% -- Eight hundredths of one percent
0.10% -- One tenth of one percent
Rate this test
4.5 out of 5
based on 10503 votes