Ace Your DMV Written Test with our Guaranteed Cheat Sheet.
Cheat Sheet

Michigan driver's examination

(From the 2018 Michigan driver handbook)
Number of tests: 12
Number of questions: 50
Passing score: 40
Directions: If you have never been licensed, you will be given a knowledge test to determine how well you know Michigan traffic laws and safe driving practices. Applicants age 18 or older will be given this test at the Secretary of State office when applying for a Temporary Instruction Permit. If you have a valid driver’s license from another state, the written knowledge and driving skills tests as well as the 30-day practice requirements may be waived. The Department of State will contact your previous home state to obtain your driving record, which then becomes part of your Michigan driving record.

There are 50 questions on the written test. You have to score 80% and above to pass. All questions are taken from the Michigan Drive License Manual. Please thoroughly study the manual before taking the test.
You have made error so far
Passing grade —
10 or fewer errors
advertising
1.
This sign means:
Stop sign ahead.
Lane closed ahead.
Railroad crossing ahead.
Traffic signal ahead.
2.
Driving while being distracted by any activity:
Is never dangerous.
Usually causes the driver to react more slowly to hazards.
Usually causes the driver to drive faster.
Is only dangerous for young drivers.
3.
When driving in normal traffic conditions, you should signal to turn ________ before beginning the turn.
20 feet
50 feet
100 feet
300 feet
4.
When approaching a flashing yellow light, drivers should:
Increase their speed.
Come to a complete stop.
Turn on their headlights.
Slow down and proceed with caution.
5.
What does this road sign mean?
Slow down and prepare to stop if cars are approaching you.
Come to a full stop and go when it is safe to do so.
Proceed carefully through the intersection, not always stopping.
Stop only for traffic on an intersecting road.
6.
You may park or stop along the shoulder of the freeway:
As long as you turn on your four-way (emergency) flashers.
If no part of your vehicle is on the road.
If you need to look at a map for directions.
Only if you have an emergency.
7.
Drivers must yield to a pedestrian:
Even if the pedestrian crosses the street carelessly.
Only when the pedestrian is in a crosswalk.
Only if the pedestrian is on the same side of the road as the driver.
If the pedestrian uses a hand signal to ask oncoming drivers to stop.
Our Latest Videos
Ace Your DMV Written Test
Get your Cheat Sheet Now!

Wait, before you go

Ace your DMV Written Test with our Guaranteed Cheat Sheet.

  • Cheat Sheets Save Time
  • Cheat Sheets pass on your first try