Montana State DMV Handbook and Regulations FAQ
If you’re looking to acquire a Montana state driver’s license, then it’s imperative that you obtain a full copy of Montana’s official handbook and study it thoroughly before the date of your test. The following are some of the most commonly asked questions about Montana road laws, the Montana DMV, and the process of applying for a Montana license in general.
How old do I have to be before I can apply for a learner’s permit in Montana?
In the state of Montana, you must be at least 16 before you can officially apply for your learner’s permit. However, if you are enrolled in a state-approved driver’s education program, you can actually apply as early as 14 ½. In order to receive your permit, you will also need to pass the written driver’s knowledge test for the state of Montana, as well as meet the state’s minimal medical requirements.
What is the minimum score I need to achieve on the written test in order to qualify for my permit?
In Montana, the written driver’s knowledge test contains 33 questions. In order to receive a passing score and successfully earn your learner’s permit, you need to answer a minimum of 27 questions correctly. Keep in mind that up to 50% of all applicants fail the test on their first try. If this happens to you, you must wait one day before taking it again.
You can maximize your chances of passing sooner rather than later by studying with not only your handbook, but practice tests as well. Montana state DMV practice tests are specially designed to closely mimic the actual test taking experience so that you go into the process with an accurate idea of what you’ll face.
What documents do I need to take with me on test day?
If you are underage, you will need to be sure to bring a parent or other legal guardian with you when you arrive at the field office to take your test. You will also need to prove your identity, age, and legal residency in the state of Montana with government recognized documentation and forms of identification including a state-official identification card or license from another U.S. state, certificate of birth, or United States passport or passport card.
Is there any time at which proof of authorized presence in the United States is not required?
You do not need to bring official proof of your authorized presence in the United States if you are looking to renew or upgrade your license. You also do not need it if you are looking to reinstate a suspended Montana driver’s license or replace a valid Montana license that has been lost or damaged.
I’m new to Montana. How quickly am I expected to transfer my existing license?
If you’ve recently moved to Montana from another state, you are required to inform the DMV of this fact and apply for a Montana license within 60 days. As is the case with others applying for a Montana license, you will need to prove your identity, your residency in the state of Montana, and your legal presence in the United States. You will also need to pass the Montana state written driver’s knowledge test, as well as a vision test at your time of application.
Once I get my learner’s permit, what’s next?
If you’re applying for a Montana state learner’s permit, you will be granted student driving privileges only when accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or other licensed adult of at least 18 years of age. The driver must be present in the front passenger’s seat at all times.
As a student driver, you are required to complete a minimum of 50 hours of supervised driving. A minimum of 10 of these hours must be completed at night. Before you can officially be granted your license, you must have had your learner’s permit for at least six months. You also may not have committed any traffic violations or alcohol/drug related offenses within the last six months.
What is included on my Montana driving record?
Your official driver’s record on file with the Montana state DMV will contain the entirety of your driving history ever since first being granted a Montana driver’s license. This includes personal information, licensing information, any and all tickets or convictions, history of vehicular accidents, and any suspensions or revocations you may have in your history as a driver.
What is the Montana state point system and how does it affect my life as a driver?
Many U.S. states have a point system in place that governs how traffic violations and other offenses will affect your driver’s privileges. Each violation you accumulate will come with a government-assigned point value. Each point value will also remain on your long-term driving record for three years before dropping off and becoming irrelevant. Please note that the dropping off phenomenon only applies to the point value. The offense itself will remain on your permanent driving record, as will offenses you commit in other states.
You can also expect that points and offenses incurred while you have your Montana driver’s license will potentially affect your insurance rates. Tickets and minor traffic violations affect such rates for an average of three years. Serious convictions for offenses like drunk driving will affect them for upwards of five years.
How do I register as an organ donor in Montana?
As is the case with other states, organ donor registration is handled through the DMV. Anyone can register regardless of age, race, medical history, or driving record. You can specify that you wish to become an organ donor at the time you apply for your license or identification card. Alternatively, you can register to become an organ donor online at the Montana DMV’s official website.
What do I do if I need to replace my Montana driver’s license?
If you lose, damage, or otherwise need to replace your Montana driver’s license, visit a DMV field office with two forms of government-recognized identification and a rep will take care of you.